The Object Teams Blog

Adding team spirit to your objects.

New Honours, New Synergy

with 3 comments

I’m flattered to see my name appear on one more Eclipse web-page:

Thanks to the JDT/Core team for accepting me as a new member!

Actually, I’ve been poking about the JDT source code since 2003 when we started implementing the Object Teams Development Tooling (OTDT) on top of the JDT. So it was only natural that I would stumble upon a bug in the JDT every once in a while (incl. one “greatbug” 🙂 ). In this specific situation, reporting bugs and trying to help find solutions was more than just good Eclipse citizenship: the discussions in bugzilla also helped me to better understand the JDT sources and thus it helped me developing the OTDT. And that’s what this post is about: synergy!

Personal Goals

Actually, watching the JDT/Core bug inbox provides a constant stream of cool riddles: spooky Java examples producing unexpected compiler/runtime results. Sometimes those are real fun to crack. Which compiler is right, which one isn’t? What’s the programmer trying to do? I’d say there’s no better way to test your Java knowledge 🙂

Also, watching this stream helps me stay informed, because every patch will eventually need to be merged into the Object Teams branch of the JDT/Core.

But I also have some pet projects that I’d like to actively push forward. Currently I’m thinking about these two:

  • Supporting inter-procedural null analysis
  • Making the compiler closer match the OSGi semantics

Inter-procedural null analysis

Naturally, the JDT/Core is a facilitator for tons of cool functionality in the IDE, but it hardly communicates directly with the user. But we have one channel, where the compiler can actually talk to the developer and give advice that’s well worth your bucks: errors and warnings. Did you know, that the compiler can immediately tell you what’s wrong about this piece of code:

void foo(String in) {
   if (in == null) new IllegalArgumentException("Null is not allowed here");
   ... // real work done here
 

(Yep, that was bug 236385, see the New&Noteworthy on how to enable).

Many Java developers share the experience that one of the most frequent problems is also one of the most mundane: NPE. Those, who are aware of this easily produce the opposite problem: cluttering there code with meaningless null-checks (many of which have no better action than the above IllegalArgumentException which isn’t much better than throwing the NPE in the first place). The point is, we’d want to know which values can actually be null (and why!) so we write only the necessary null-checks and for those we should think really hard what would be a suitable action, right? (“This shouldn’t happen” is not an answer!).

Thus I’m happy I could get involved in some improvements of the compiler’s flow analysis. I also experienced that null-analysis combined with aggressive optimization is a delicate issue – remember SDK 3.7M2a? Sorry about that, but to my justification I might add that bug 325755 has always been dormantly present, I only woke’em up. I must admit for those 105 minutes my heart beat was a bit above average 😉 .

Anyway, the current null analysis is still fundamentally limited: it knows nothing about nullness of method arguments nor method call results. So it would be a real cool enhancement if we could feed such information into the compiler. Fortunately, the theory of how to do this (you may either think of improved type systems or of design by contract) is a well-explored subject. Actually, bug 186342 already has some patches in this direction. Since discussing in bugs with long history is a bit tedious I created this wiki page. Sadly, it’s not a technical difficulty that’s keeping us from immediately releasing that patch, but a stalled standardization process 😦 .

However, as outlined in the wiki, here comes another synergy: in case we can’t find a solution that will be sufficiently compatible with future standards, I can easily create an early-adopters release, so sorting out the details of implementation and usage can be done in parallel with the standardization process. How that? I’d simply ship the compiler enhancement as an OT/Equinox-enabled plug-in. This would allow us to ship the compiler enhancement as separate plug-in ready to be tried by early adopters.

OSGi-aware compiler

Some of you may have noticed (here, or here, or here, or here or one of the many duplicates) that the compiler’s concept of a (single, linear) classpath is not a good match for compiling OSGi code. I will soon write another wiki page with my current thinkings about that issue. Stay tuned …

Comments?

For both issues I’d appreciate any comments / feedback. I’ll be checking updates of the bugs I listed, or the wiki page or … talk to me during ESE! Let’s move something together.

See you all in Ludwigsburg!
Stephan

Written by Stephan Herrmann

October 26, 2010 at 19:18

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Congrats on joining the Platform/JDT team 🙂

    I look forward towards great things!

    Chris Aniszczyk

    October 26, 2010 at 23:39

  2. Congrats! I really liked your OT/Equinox approach for compiler/language experiments, thanks again for the adoption of my throw String experiment. If you like, we can do a bit of “medal” hacking at ESE next week or maybe even do a BoF on the topic? Greetings, Ralf

    Ralf Ebert

    October 27, 2010 at 03:08

  3. […] I announced earlier most of my time for the JDT currently goes into static analysis, more specifically into analyzing […]


Leave a Reply

